Home » Event » European Society for Aesthetics Annual Conference in 2023

European Society for Aesthetics Annual Conference in 2023

The next annual conference of the European Society for Aesthetics is taking place on 29 June – 1 July 2023 at the House of Music Hungary.

The conference is co-organised by the ESA and the Kodolányi János University. Conference fee is 40€ for students and unwaged, and 80 € for academics.

The keynote speakers:

Alva Noë (University of Berkeley)

Stacie Friend (University of London

Veronika Darida (Eötvös Lorand University)

Call for Abstracts

We invite papers from all traditions and on any topic in philosophical aesthetics. Both systematic and historical presentations are acceptable. For each talk, there will be time for a 20–25-minute presentation, with about another 20 minutes designated for discussion. All papers presented at the conference are eligible for publication in the Proceedings of the ESA

Submissions must be long abstracts (800-1200 words in length) presenting not only the main ideas and claims of the paper, but also the arguments in favour of them. We encourage the presentation of submissions in English, but submissions in other major European languages will be considered equally. Full paper submissions will not be accepted, and submissions are limited to one per person. Please, do not exceed the word limit.

Please use the PDF-file format for submission and render your text completely anonymous to allow for blind refereeing, i.e., the names of participants should not be revealed in the proposal. To submit your long abstract, please use the EasyChair online submission system (first-time users will be asked to register with EasyChair).

The deadline for submissions of long abstracts and panel proposals is 16th January 2023. We aim to inform you about the result of our selection process by the end of February.

Call for Panel Proposals

We also invite submission of panels (1200-1500 words in length), which can be dedicated to a specific topic or a recently published book, relevant within the field of aesthetics. Panels should include up to four people and be completely anonymous to allow for blind refereeing, i.e., the names of participants should not be revealed in the proposal. One panel lasts 90 minutes. Panel proposals will be evaluated on an all or nothing basis. In addition to being included in a panel proposal, you can submit an individual long abstract. However, you can only present your own paper (if accepted) in case the panel where you participate is not accepted.

To propose a panel, please follow the same procedure as described above.

The 2023 Fabian Dorsch ESA Essay Prize Contest Announced

The European Society for Aesthetics awards an essay prize for PhD students and early career scholars (max. three years from the doctorate) in connection with its yearly conference. Former winners of the prize are not eligible to participate. The prize consists of a stipend of 500€. The winning essay will be considered for publication in the journal Estetika: The European Journal of Aesthetics.

All submissions to the prize must be in English. The selection of the prize winner is in two stages. First, submissions are made by following the general call of the ESA 2023 conference. Please place “(Essay Prize)” after the title of your submission in EasyChair to indicate that you want your submission to be considered for the prize. After the first round of reviews, selected authors are asked to submit a full conference paper (max. 5000 words, including bibliography and footnotes) by April 15th, 2023. The recipient of the prize is selected from this group. We aim to announce the winner by May 15th, 2023.

Additionally to selecting the winning paper, the ESA Essay Prize Committee plans to shortlist up to two more essays out of those who are invited to submit their full conference paper. For each of the shortlisted essays (including the winning one), a commentary by one ESA executive board member (or an invited scholar) will be provided before the conference. The essays, comments, and replies to these by the authors will be presented in a special session at the conference.

The ESA Essay Prize is named after the co-founder and first secretary of The European Society for Aesthetics, Fabian Dorsch (1974–2017). Former winners include Servaas van der Berg (2017), Mark Windsor (2018), Irene Martínez Marín (2019), Jeremy Page (2020), Nemesio G. C. Puy (2021), and Alex Fisher (2022).