Home » Call for papers » Analytic Aesthetics and Contemporary Art

Analytic Aesthetics and Contemporary Art

Published by Bloomsbury Academic

Chief Editors: Tiziana Andina [tiziana.andina@unito.it], David Carrier [david.carrier7@gmail.com] .

Philosophers and cultural historians typically discuss works of art in abstract terms. But the true significance of art for philosophy, and philosophy for art, can only be established through close analysis of specific examples. Art is increasingly being used to introduce and discuss problems in philosophy. And many works of art raise important philosophical issues of their own. But the resources available have been limited. Analytic Aesthetics and Contemporary Art, the first series of its kind, will provide a productive context for that indispensable enterprise.

The series promotes philosophy as a framework for understanding the study of contemporary arts and artists, showcasing researches that exemplifies cutting-edge and socially engaged scholarship, bridging theory and practice, academic rigour and insight of the contemporary world.

Editorial Board: Prof. Alessandro Arbo (University of Strasbourg, Fr.), Prof. Carla Bagnoli (University of Modena and Reggio), Leeza Chebotarev (Gogosian Gallery), Prof. Paolo D’Angelo (University of Roma Tre), Prof. Noël Carroll (CUNY), Prof. Diarmuid Costello (University of Warwick), Prof. Maurizio Ferraris (University of Turin), Cynthia Freeland (University of Houston), Prof. Peter Lamarque (University of York), Prof. Jonathan Gilmore (CUNY), Prof. Luca Illetterati (University of Padova), Prof. Gao Jianping (Chinese Academy of Social Sciences), Birte Kleemann (Michael Werner Gallery), Prof. Joachim Pissarro (CUNY), Prof. Sara Protasi (University of Puget Sound), Prof. Shen-yi Liao (University of Puget Sound), Prof. Ken-Ichi Sasaki (Nihon University), Prof. Elisabeth Schellekens (University of Uppsala), Prof. Vincenzo Trione (IULM, International University of Language and Comunication, Milano).
New proposals and ideas can be submitted to the editors.